Yot Club - Rufus


Format: CD
Label: Alternate Side
Rel. Date: 03/29/2024
UPC: 843563173510

Artist: Yot Club
Format: CD


1. Stuntman
2. Rufus
3. Too Far Gone
4. Wake Up
5. Lazy Eyes
6. Nostalgia
7. Poison in Your Mind
8. Drowning
9. Human Nature
10. 2084
11. Fool
12. Other World

More Info:

Ryan Kaiser has already made a name for himself creating daydreamy, sun-blasted, Polaroid-pop as Yot Club. With his second full-length, Rufus, Kaiser is expanding his sonic palette and challenging his own established modes of music making by letting collaborators in. The record includes co-writes with the likes of Tommy English (Carly Rae Jepsen, Kacey Musgraves), and singer Charli Adams, with Patrick Wimberly (formerly one-half of Chairlift) on mixing duties, and the result is a collection of songs that sounds bolder and brighter. From the shimmering surf-pop of opener "Stuntman," to the minor chord angst and quiet-loud-quiet pulse of "New Day," to The Strokesian swoon of album closer "Lazy Eyes," Kaiser lo-fi hooks have a new cinematic scope. It continues Kaiser's coming of age - looking back, picking it all apart, trying to work it all out, and constantly pushing forward.