back to top

Early Morning Rain


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 05/08/2020
UPC: 855820007780

Early Morning Rain
Artist: Steve Forbert
Format: CD


1. Early Morning Rain
2. Box of Rain
3. Your Song
4. Supersonic Rocketship
5. Withered and Died
6. Someday Soon
7. Pick Me Up on Your Way Down
8. Suzanne
9. Frankie and Johnny
10. Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues
11. Dignity

More Info:

2020 release, an album of cover versions by the veteran singer/songwriter. More than four decades have passed since Steve Forbert made his way to New York City from Meridian Mississippi in quest of a career in music. It was the most unlikely time and place for a folksinger to leap into the fray in a burgeoning scene where new wave and punk were emerging. Forbert took the stage as an archetypal folkie, armed with just an acoustic guitar and sheaf of very personal songs. His career had it's share of triumphs as well as stumbles and disappointments as did his private life. Through it all, over the course of a marriage, divorce, raising three children, writing and recording 20 studio albums and fronting an ever-changing line-up of supporting musicians, he persevered and stayed true to his roots and the folk ethos.