Tony White  Joe - Black & White (Hol)


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 12/01/2023
UPC: 8718627236130

Black & White (Hol)
Artist: Tony White Joe
Format: CD


1. Willie and Laura Mae Jones
2. Soul Francisco
3. Aspen Colorado
4. Whompt Out on You
5. Don't Steal My Love
6. Polk Salad Annie
7. Who's Making Love
8. Scratch My Back
9. Little Green Apples
10. Wichita Lineman
11. The Look of Love
12. Georgia Pines
13. Ten More Miles to Louisiana

More Info:

"Black and White" was the first album release by Tony Joe White. It contains the single "Polk Salad Annie" The single release peaked at #8 on the Billboard Hot 100. The Roots of Tony Joe White lie in the swamplands of Oak Grove, Louisiana, where he was born in 1943. White is not only a singer with a mellow baritone voice that sounded like it had been dredged up from the bottom of the Delta. He also wrote "Willie and Laura Mae Jones," "Soul Francisco," "Aspen, Colorado" presages the later "Rainy Night in Georgia," a White composition popularized by Brook Benton. On this album also covers of hits, with the funky "Who's Making Love" and "Scratch My Back" faring better than the slow stuff. Dusty Springfield had a minor hit with "Willie and Laura Mae Jones," and White's songs were recorded by other performers through the years.