Hendrik Meurkens - Jazz Meurkengers


Format: CD
Rel. Date: 03/29/2024
UPC: 875531025705

Jazz Meurkengers
Artist: Hendrik Meurkens
Format: CD


1. A Slow One
2. Belgian Beer at Dawn
3. A Lullaby for Benny
4. Silver's Serenade
5. Meurks' Mood
6. Dreamsville
7. If I Were a Bell
8. A Tear for Toots
9. Smada

More Info:

The chromatic harmonica may look like a simple toy or a novelty but it is actually one of the most difficult of all instruments to play. Stating a bebop melody with the ease of a saxophonist has only been achieved by a small handful of jazz harmonica players, most notably Toots Thielemans and Hendrik Meurkens. For his new project 'The Jazz Meurkengers', Meurkens decided that a new swinging jazz album was long overdue so he contacted pianist Steve Ash, bassist Chris Berger and drummer Andy Watson to help him deliver the hard-bop groove of Winton Kelly, Jimmy Cobb and Wes Montgomery. The album features four standards, five Meurkens originals and special guests Ed Cherry and Nick Hampton.