Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 06/04/2021
UPC: 881626574911

Hearsay I-Land
Artist: Roland Young
Format: Vinyl


1. Go Away
2. Don't Make Me Wait
3. Ballo-Balla
4. Edge of Disaster
5. Don't Ever Take Your Love Away
6. Victim
7. So Very Easy
8. Different Package
9. It Hurts So Bad

More Info:

Recognized for his spiritual jazz classic, Isophonic Boogie Woogie, as well as his more recent output on EM records, Hearsay I-Land presents another parallel and deeply engaging side to Roland P. Young's story. This long-awaited re-release highlights Young's mid-80's foray into pop structures, soul, and dance music, and comprises the entirety of his scarce 1984 four song 12", I-LAND, as well as most of his 1987 LP, Hearsay Evidence, both self-released on his Flow-Chart Records. Originally compiled and released in 2013, this updated and remastered edition proudly includes an additional inner sleeve with unpublished photos, tip-on jacket, and a more superior vinyl pressing. Hearsay I-Land will fit at home in any downtempo 80's NYC set. It's a more intimate and personal album, marking a departure for the classically trained clarinetist, and followed a decade in the fervent Bay Area where he experimented within the minimalist and jazz genres, and then with his early 80s work in the postpunk-funk group The Offs. These recordings reflect a change of coasts with Roland moving to Manhattan, and touch upon many lyrical and worldly themes of the era via Roland's soulful voice, save for Ballo-Balla, which features floating vocals from his partner Risa over a spacey drum machine and hypnotic bass sequence, imploring the listener to dance.