Thief - Bleed, Memory


Format: Vinyl
Label: Prophecy
Rel. Date: 04/19/2024
UPC: 884388876811

Bleed, Memory
Artist: Thief
Format: Vinyl


1. Apparitions
2. Cinderland
3. Paramnesia
4. Pneuma Enthusiastikon
5. Prankquean
6. Dead Coyote Dreams
7. Bleed, Memory
8. Dulcinea
9. Behemouth
10. Hexproof
11. Pissing
12. To Whom It May Concern

More Info:

On their fourth full-length album, "Bleed, Memory" Los Angeles-based electronic experimentalists Thief explore the theme of 'memory' both lyrically and musically, which runs as a bold dotted line throughout the album. The solo project's mastermind, Dylan Neal, was largely inspired for this album after witnessing his father, who had recently been diagnosed with dementia, transition from bouts of forgetfulness and confusion to acute episodes of false memories, delusions and strange behaviour. This makes "Bleed, Memory" a very personal creation and the experience has led Neal to question his own memories and explore how they shape his identity and reality. Once again, the backbone of Thief is made up of sampled sacred chant music. Some were sampled from crate digging, and some recorded at various orthodox churches. These samples got stretched, cut, mangled, morphed, and pitched to function like it's own ethereal instrument. Neal deliberately designed "Bleed, Memory" to sound haunted.