back to top

Navarasa: Nine Emotions [2LP]


Format: Vinyl
Rel. Date: 02/07/2020
UPC: 887828043910

Navarasa: Nine Emotions [2LP]
Artist: Yorkston/Thorne/Khan
Format: Vinyl


1. Sukhe Phool
2. The Shearing’s Not for You
3. Thumri Bhairavi
4. Westlin’ Winds
5. Song for Oddur
6. The North Carr
7. Twa Brothers
8. Waliyan da Raja
9. Darbari

More Info:

Yorkston/Thorne/Khan ' a trio of James Yorkston (guitar/nyckelharpa/vocals), Jon Thorne (double-bass/vocals) and Suhail Yusuf Khan (sarangi/vocals) - are pleased to announce their new album Navarasa : Nine Emotions. YTK unite one of the key spiritual visionaries and architects of Hindustani art music, the poet-philosopher Hazrat Amir Khusrau with the key literary visionary of Scottish and Scotslanguage culture, Robert Burns. This bricolage of diverse cross-cultural elements is apparent across Navarasa : Nine Emotions, and all of what YTK create. James Yorkston weaves in Scottish folk, sangster and literary strands; Jon Thorne is grounded in jazz and groove; what the New Delhi-based, eighth-generation hereditary musician Suhail Yusuf Khan brings to this feast of pulses and cycles is northern Indian classical, light classical (thumri, for example) and Sufi devotional musical and literary forms. What binds these diverse musical strands together is, in James' phrase, 'a dark happiness.' Navarasa : Nine Emotions is the trio's third record and follows Everything Sacred (2016) and its successor Neuk Wight Delhi All-Stars (2017).